Fashion Victims

Clothes make the man. But men and women who make the clothes for other people are often left behind. While India’s growing middle class is following trends, the greedy tiger is chewing its working class for the well being of the economic prosperity. For a long time Ahmedabad was known as the Manchester of the orient and still today the steam engines are running at the textile factories in the city at the Sabarmati River. The factories spit out fabrics which will be offered later on the world markets. Mahatma Gandhi once founded his ashram here. He sat at his spinning wheel and spread his ideas of a nation of equality, tolerance and non-violence. But today Indian reality looks very different.

Stories can be told about child slaves at cotton plantations in rural Gujarat, as well as stories about people who wash dirty clothes for the wealthy. Those stories are far away from fair-trade or glamorous Bollywood. A lot of workers work double shifts to enhance their salaries. Poverty makes them work under unacceptable conditions. A lot of them hardly see the sunlight. Long-term health damage caused by negligent handling of chemicals and colours or the dust that impairs from the work with cotton limit the lifespan of a lot of workers. Their lifespan lies below the Indian average already.

There is no active strike culture in India like there is in the adjacent evercompeting Bangladesh. The workers seem to be too disorganised and the fear of losing their existence through the employer is too big. Everybody is replaceable and the individual counts almost nothing within this inestimable mass of over 1.2 billion people.Legislations for the safety of workers and for the environment are being enacted. Unfortunately it is very difficult to maintain regular controls in the chaos of Indian metropoles and also in rural areas, which are defined as economically backward. Additionally the Indian textile industry with its growing structures is obscure and therefore the global players can wash their hands off that matter because the production sites are outsourced.

But India is changing. The Indians say that India is developing. Slowly but surely. As long as corruption, bribery and greediness steer this development only little of the economic prosperity will get where it is needed most. However it his unclear whom to blame and also we have to take the blame with our ‚tight is right’ mentality.

error: Alert: This content is copyright protected, please get in touch if you wish to use it!

Fashion Victims

Kleider machen Leute. Doch die Leute, die die Kleider anderer Leute machen, bleiben dabei oft auf der Strecke. Während die wachsende Mittelschicht Indiens westlichen Trends hinterherjagt, verschlingt der nimmersatte hungrige Tiger seine Arbeiterklasse zum Wohle des wirtschaftlichen Aufschwungs. Ahmedabad, galt lange Zeit als das Manchester des Orients und auch heute noch schnaufen die dampfenden Maschinen in den Textilfabriken in der Stadt am Sabarmati Fluss und spuken Stoffe aus, die später auf den weltweiten Markt gespült werden. Hier gründete einst Mahatma Gandhi seinen Ashram, saß am Spinnrad und verbreitete die Idee einer Nation der Gleichheit, Toleranz und Gewaltfreiheit. Doch die indische Realität sieht anders aus.

Von den Kindersklaven auf den Baumwollplantagen im ländlichen Gujarat bis hin zu denen, die die schmutzige Wäsche der Betuchten waschen, lassen sich viele Geschichten erzählen, die fernab von Fairtrade oder der schillernden Exotik Bollywoods spielen. Viele der Arbeiter schuften Doppelschichten, um ihren kargen Lohn aufzubessern. Die Armut zwingt sie die unzumutbaren Arbeitsbedingungen hinzunehmen. Das Sonnenlicht sehen viele von ihnen kaum, gesundheitliche Schäden durch den fahrlässigen Umgang mit Chemikalien und Farben oder den allgegenwärtigen Staub, der bei der Arbeit mit Baumwolle entsteht, verkürzen die Lebenserwartung vieler Textilarbeiter, die mittlerweile unterhalb des indischen Durchschnitts liegt.

Eine ausgeprägte Streikkultur, wie im benachbarten Konkurrenten Bangladesch gibt es in Indien nicht. Zu unorganisiert sind die Arbeiter, zu groß ist die Angst vor Existenz bedrohenden Sanktionen durch die Arbeitgeber. Jeder ist ersetzbar und ein Individuum zählt nur wenig in dieser unüberschaubaren Masse von 1,2 Milliaren Menschen. Dennoch werden Gesetzte zum Schutz der Arbeiter und der Umwelt erlassen. Allerdings sind Kontrollen nur schwer umzusetzen im Chaos der indischen Industriestädte und den strukturschwachen ländlichen Gebieten. Hinzu kommt, dass die indische Textilindustrie in ihren gewachsenen Strukturen völlig undurchschaubar verwebt ist und die global Player durch das Outsourcen ganzer Fertigungsstätten ihre Hände in Unschuld waschen können.

Doch Indien verändert sich. Inder sagen, Indien entwickelt sich. Langsam aber sicher. Doch solange Korruption und Habgier diese Entwicklung lenken, wird vom wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung nur wenig dort ankommen, wo es am nötigsten ist. Dennoch ist eine Schuldzuweisung nicht eindeutig möglich, denn letzten Endes sind es auch wir, die die Früchte unserer Geiz ist Geil-Mentalität am Leibe tragen.

 

 

 

error: Alert: This content is copyright protected, please get in touch if you wish to use it!